Token used to Enter the Gardens in 1836

Rose Garden

Rose Garden (Area M)

The Rose Garden at Sheffield Botanical Gardens was restored in 2004/5, re-instating the complex swirling layout first produced - in 1836 - by the Gardens' designer and first Curator, Robert Marnock. Today's plantings demonstrate the history of the rose, and are combined with a trial to assess the value of different kinds of ground cover under the rose bushes. Traditionally, rose beds have been clean cultivated, and this trial is in response to modern ideas about their management. Rambler and climbing roses have also been included, to give height to the final design, and also to give perfumed protection to the many seats located within the garden. These shrubs are supported on tripods, or on elegant, locally-made, metal swags. There has been the most wonderful public support for this garden, through sponsorship of all the roses. There have unfortunately been difficulties, notably that a number of the roses have died because of poor planting conditions when they were set out. Since the first planting the experimental ground cover has been removed, as it was swamping and killing the new roses. All the casualties have been replaced. Maintenance has returned to the traditional system of clean cultivation with heavy applications of manure.

At the centre of the new Rose Garden stands a statue of Pan, Spirit of the Woods.



Rose Garden - © Meg Jullien, 2008


Rose Garden - © Meg Jullien, 2006


Rosa 'Alexander' - © Alison Hunter, 2007

Rosa 'Alexander'

Rosa 'Congratulations' - © Alison Hunter, 2007

Rosa 'Congratulations'

Rosa 'William Shakespeare' - © Alison Hunter, 2007

Rosa 'William Shakespeare'

Restoration Partnership: Sheffield Town Trust |  Sheffield City Council |  University of Sheffield  
Friends of the Botanical Gardens |  Sheffield Botanical Gardens Trust  

Clarkehouse Road, Sheffield, S10 2LN. Tel: +44 (0)114 268 6001
Site created by Gumshoe Software Limited.
This page updated on 16 April 2015. This site updated on 19 November 2012.