Sheffield Botanical Gardens occasionally closes before, during and after major events. Please telephone 0114 268 6001 to confirm opening and closing times.

All talks, unless otherwise stated, take place in the Demonstration Centre, Thompson Road entrance. From April 2016 FOBS talks will take place in the Broomhill Methodist Church Hall on Fulwood Road.

Date & Time Event More Information
Tuesday 26th January 10.00am

Talk on “The Winter Garden” by Ian Turner, Curator

FOBS’ Members free, Visitors £3
www.fobssheffield.co.uk

Tuesday 23rd February 10.00am

Talk on “Don’t Judge a Plant by its Appearance” by Ken Thompson

FOBS’ Members free, Visitors £3
www.fobssheffield.co.uk

Monday 7th March 7.15 pm

Talk on “Vegetable Growing” by Martin Fish

FOBS’ Members free, Visitors £3
www.fobssheffield.co.uk

Tuesday 22nd March 10.00am

Talk on “Clematis” by Chris and Suzy Cocks of Taylor’s Clematis.

FOBS’ Members free, Visitors £3. Plants for sale and can be pre-ordered.
www.fobssheffield.co.uk
www.taylorsclematis.co.uk

Monday 11th April        7.15pm

Talk on “A Horticultural History of Renishaw” by David Kesteven (Head Gardener at Renishaw Hall) at Broomhill Methodist Church Hall.

FOBS’ Members free, Visitors £3
www.renishaw-hall.co.uk
www.fobssheffield.co.uk

Tuesday 26th April    10.00am

Talk on “Plants First!” By Sarah Price at Broomhill Methodist Church Hall

FOBS’ Members free, Visitors £3
www.sarahpricelandscapes.com
www.fobssheffield.co.uk

Sunday, 1st May 11.00am-3.00pm Plant Sale – Spring Plant Sale organised by Friends of the Botanical Gardens Nursery Free entry
www.fobssheffield.co.uk
Monday 9th May      7.15pm Talk on “Much Ado About Nothing: dispelling the myths about moths” by Ben Keywood, Sheffield and Rotherham Wildlife Trust at Broomhill Methodist Church Hall

www.wildsheffield.com
www.fobssheffield.co.uk

Saturday 21st May
12.30pm-3.30pm
Sunday 22nd May
10.30am-1.30pm

Plant Sale – Spring Plant Sale organised by the Hardy Plant Society, South Pennine Group, Botanical Gardens Nursery

Free entry
www.southpenninehps.btck.co.uk
Saturday 28th May-Monday 30th May
10.00am-5.00pm
RSPB Exhibition and Plant Sale, Botanical Gardens Nursery Helen Ensor
0114 2698066
Tuesday 24th May  10.00am Talk on “Habitat Creation” by Dr Douglas Fraser, Sheffield Hallam University at Broomhill Methodist Church Hall  www.fobssheffield.co.uk
Saturday 4th June 12.00pm-5.00pm
Sunday 5th June 10.00am-4.00pm

Cactus Show organised by the Sheffield Branch of the British Cactus and Succulent Society (BCSS), Botanical Gardens Nursery

Mike Thewles
0114 2551756
Monday 6th June      7.15pm A talk on “FOBS from the Eighties: a personal account of places, plants and people” by Sue Kohler at Broomhill Methodist Church Hall FOBS’ members free
Visitors £3
www.fobssheffield.co.uk

Friday 24th June at 7.30pm

Saturday 25th at 2.30 & 7.30pm
Sunday 26th at 6.30pm

Theatre Production by Heartbreak Productions of “The Tempest” by William Shakespeare
South Lawn, Thompson Road Entrance
www.heartbreakproductions.co.uk
Tuesday, 28th June 10.00am A talk on “Mecanopsis and Lilies” by Trish and Peter Kohn at Broomhill Methodist Church Hall FOBS’ members free, Visitors £3
www.fobssheffield.co.uk

Thursday 30th June Gates open 6.00pm, Event 7.00pm

Music in the Gardens – JAMES
Musical Evenings organised by local Rotary groups, East Lawn

www.musicinthegardens.co.uk

Friday 1st July
Gates open 6.00pm, Event 7.00pm
Music in the Gardens – THE FEELING
Musical Evenings organised by local Rotary groups, East Lawn

www.musicinthegardens.co.uk

Saturday 2nd July

Gates open 6.00pm, Event 7.00pm

Music in the Gardens – UB40
Musical Evenings organised by local Rotary groups, East Lawn
www.musicinthegardens.co.uk
Sunday 3rd July Gates open 6.00pm, Event 7.00pm Music in the Gardens
Musical Evenings organised by local Rotary groups
Classical night “Last Night in the Gardens”,
East Lawn
www.musicinthegardens.co.uk
Monday 11th July      7.15pm Garden Tour of Sheffield Botanical Gardens by Ian Turner (Curator) FOBS’ members free,  Visitors £3
www.fobssheffield.co.uk
Friday 8th July-Sunday 10th at  6.30pm
and extra matinee on Saturday 9th July at 2.00pm
Theatre Production by Heartbreak Productions of “Ratburger” by David Walliams.
South Lawn, Thompson Road Entrance
www.heartbreakproductions.co.uk
Tuesday 26th July   10.00am Talk on “Planting design as an art form tuned to nature” by Professor Nigel Dunnett, Sheffield University at Broomhill Methodist Church Hall FOBS’ members free, Visitors £3
www.fobssheffield.co.uk
Tuesday 26th July-
Thursday 28th July at  7.30pm
Theatre Production by Heartbreak Productions of “Importance of Being Earnest” by Oscar Wilde.
South Lawn, Thompson Road Entrance

www.heartbreakproductions.co.uk

Friday 29th July at 7.30pm
Saturday 30th July at 2.00 and 7.30 pm
Sunday 31st July
6.30pm
Theatre Production by Heartbreak Productions of “Murder on the Terrace” by David Kerby Kendall. South Lawn, Thompson Road Entrance www.heartbreakproductions.co.uk
Friday 5th August
7.00pm
Theatre Production by The Pantaloons of “The Canterbury Tales”. South Lawn, Thompson Road Entrance www.thepantaloons.co.uk
 Tuesday 23rd August 10.00am Talk on “Photographing flowers with your compact camera” by Keith Allchin, Sheffield Photographic Society at Broomhill Methodist Church Hall  FOBS’ members free, Visitors £3
www.sheffield-photographer.org.uk
www.fobssheffield.co.uk
Wednesday 24th August 7.00pm Theatre Production by The Pantaloons of “Gulliver’s Travels”. South Lawn, Thompson Road Entrance www.thepantaloons.co.uk
Thursday 25th August 7.00pm Theatre Production by The Pantaloons of “Romeo and Juliet”. South Lawn, Thompson Road Entrance www.thepantaloons.co.uk
Saturday 3rd September-Sunday 4th
10.30am-5.30pm
The 13th Art in the Gardens. Arguably the largest outdoor art exhibition in the north of England with artists, craft makers and visitors coming from throughout the UK. A great day out for all the family. Takes place over the whole of Sheffield Botanical Gardens. www.artinthegardens.com
Monday 12th September 7.15pm Talk on “Snowdrops from October to April” by Michael Myers at Broomhill Methodist Church Hall FOBS’ members free,
Visitors £3
www.fobssheffield.co.uk
Sunday 11th September, 11.00am-3pm Plant Sale – Autumn Plant Sale organised by Friends of the Botanical Gardens, Botanical Gardens Nursery.

Free entry
www.fobssheffield.co.uk

Sunday 18th September
11.00am–3.00pm
Plant Sale – Autumn Plant Sale organised by the Hardy Plant Society, South Pennine Group, Botanical Gardens Nursery. Free entry
www.southpenninehps.btck.co.uk
Tuesday 27th September 10.00am Update from Ian Turner. FOBS’ members free,
Visitors £3
www.fobssheffield.co.uk
Monday 10th October 7.15pm “Botanical Grasses Workshop” by John and Gail Summerfield  FOBS’ members free, Visitors £3
www.westshores.co.uk
Tuesday 25th October at 10.00am Talk on “Developing the Use of Native Wildflowers in Chinese Cities” by Professor James Hitchmough,  Sheffield University  FOBS’ members free, Visitors £3
www.fobssheffield.co.uk
Tuesday 29th November 10.00am Talk on “Christmas and its Customs” by Dr Patrick Harding  FOBS’ members free, Visitors £3
www.patrickharding.co.uk/
www.fobssheffield.co.uk